“Gender Equality Today for a Sustainable Tomorrow” – The Intersection Between Gender Justice and Climate Justice

  • India Panel
    March 8, 2022
    7:00 AM - 7:45 AM
  • US Panel
    March 8, 2022
    10:00 AM - 10:45 AM

The global community is grappling with the urgency to address climate change. Experts agree that there are disproportionate impacts from climate change based on income, race, and other characteristics, including gender. So corrective actions and mitigation strategies must be equitable in order for these solutions to be sustainable for future generations.

But it is not enough to invite women and girls to the table. Addressing the immediate constraints that keep them from being engaged decision-makers, including real security and safety concerns, must be part of a wider, integrated global strategy.

For International Women’s Day, Shadhika is hosting two panel discussions: A conversation in Hindi that will feature feminist climate justice activists in India, including our very own Climate Change Fellows, and a second conversation in English with a panel of climate justice advocates coming from a wide range of perspectives.

Both panels will discuss the direct effects of climate change on women and girls in India and around the world, the reality that challenges their leadership and their activism on climate issues, and what the start of a solution may look like.

Time: India Panel – 7:30am MT/8pm IST; US Panel – 10am MT/10:30pm IST

Location: Instagram Live (follow Shadhika @shadhika_india to get the Live notification)

We're sorry, but all tickets sales have ended because the event is expired.