The Posner Center sits on land of the Cheyenne and Arapaho.

The Posner Center for International Development has a policy to begin all public events with a formal acknowledgment of the lands on which events take place. We recognize that the Posner Center Community and its collaborative global development work are possible because of past and current sacrifices of this land’s original peoples. We want to acknowledge the land and history of the Posner Center space we are fortunate to gather in today.

First, we acknowledge that the Posner Center sits on land of the Cheyenne and Arapaho, who are the original Stewards of this land. We also wish to acknowledge all other Indigenous Tribes and Nations who call Colorado home (see list of 48 tribes below). It is because of their sacrifices and hardships that we are able to be here to bring together 200 organizations and build an engaged, thriving, community – a community where people meet and learn about one another, exchange ideas, access shared resources and support, and ultimately combine their expertise for a more equitable and prosperous world.

It is important to recognize that Indigenous people have been displaced from their homelands and that U.S. public policy has been used to displace Indigenous communities, erode Tribal Nation sovereignty, and forcibly assimilate Native individuals into U.S. society. We share this acknowledgment to encourage Posner Center tenants, members, partners and visitors to discuss and strategize how we might leverage public policy to address these historic and contemporary atrocities perpetrated against Native people and other marginalized communities.

When you are joining us virtually, we ask that you take a moment to privately honor the original peoples who were stewards of the land in your place, acknowledging that we are now able to convene, collaborate and do our work because of their sacrifices. You can find the original peoples of your location here.

You can download a copy of this land acknowledgment for use at Posner Center events in our Resource Library.

48 Indigenous Tribes and Nations who call Colorado home
1. Apache Tribe of Oklahoma 2. Cheyenne & Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma 3. Comanche Nation  4. Crow Creek Sioux Tribe
5. Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe 6. Crow Tribe 7. Eastern Shoshone Tribe 8. Fort Sill Apache Tribe
9. Kewa Pueblo (Santo Domingo)  10. Hopi Tribe 11. Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma 12. Mescalero Apache Tribe
13. Jicarilla Apache Nation 14. Navajo Nation 15. Oglala Sioux Tribe 16. Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan)
17. Northern Arapaho Tribe 18. Osage Tribe 19. Northern Cheyenne Tribe 20. Paiute Tribe of Utah
21. Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma 22. Pueblo of Jemez 23. Pueblo of Acoma 24. Pueblo of Laguna
25. Pueblo of Cochiti 26. Pueblo of Nambe 27. Pueblo of Isleta 28. Pueblo of Picuris
29. Pueblo of Pojoaque 30. Pueblo of Santa Ana 31. Pueblo of San Felipe 32. Pueblo of Santa Clara
33. Pueblo of San Ildefonso 34. Pueblo of Taos 35. Pueblo of Sandia 36. Pueblo of Tesuque
37. Pueblo of Zia 38. Rosebud Sioux Tribe 39. San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe 40. Shoshone Bannock Tribes
41. Southern Ute Tribe  42. Standing Rock Sioux Tribe 43. Three Affiliated Tribes – Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara 44. Ute Indian Tribe 
45. Ute Mountain Ute Tribe  46. Wichita & Affiliated Tribes  47. Ysleta del Sur Pueblo 48. Zuni Tribe 
Thank you to the Denver American Indian Commission for their consultation.